Posts Tagged ‘paranormal adventure’

The Kingdom
Berkeley Blackfriars Book 1
by J. R. Mabry
Genre: Urban Fantasy
An unhinged tycoon.
A lodge of evil magicians.
A plan to steal every child from the face of the earth…
When Kat Webber discovers her brother’s comatose body in the midst of a
demonic ritual, she knew she was in over her head…
Fr. Richard Kinney is having a crappy week. He’s not at all sure he’s
the best leader for the demon-hunting Berkeley Blackfriars, and his
boyfriend has just broken up with him. But when a violent demon
possesses one of the richest men in the world, Richard doesn’t have
time for self-pity.
Kat and the Blackfriars discover their situations are entertwined—leading
them to a lodge of black magicians who make every avocado in the
world disappear. Their dark power growing, they eliminate every dog
from existence.
Kat and the Blackfriars find themselves in a desperate race against time
as the magicians try to eliminate their next target—every child on
earth. To save the world’s next generation, Kat and the Berkeley
Blackfriars will have to put themselves in the line of fire instead…
The Kingdom is the first book in the Berkeley Blackfriars series. If you love
supernatural suspense laced with humor and danger, you’ll love J.R.
Mabry’s Berkeley Blackfriars’ books. Fans of
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Preacher,
The Dresden Files, and the Mercy Thompson series will thrill to this new
paranormal fantasy adventure.
**Only .99 cents!**
J.R. Mabry roams the earth like the ghost of Jacob Marley, searching for
the perfect omelet pan. He writes thoughtful urban fantasy and
science fiction. When not haunting high-end cooking stores, he lives
with his wife and three dogs in Oakland, CA. He is allergic to
coffee, tea, and alcohol, and for this reason the hills resound with
his lamentation. He is also generally a cheery guy.

Check out the relaunch of The Kingdom, out now from Apocryphile Press. The
relaunched The Power will be out next month, followed by the all-new
The Glory—also known as the Berkeley Blackfriars series. The
Berkeley Blackfriars aren’t your ordinary priests—they curse like
longshoremen and aren’t above the occasional spliff or
one-night-stand. But if you’ve got a nasty demon on your ass,
they’re exactly the guys you want in your corner.
For a free short story in the Berkeley Blackfriars universe, download The
Demon Bunny of Ipswich.
For more on The Kingdom and the Berkeley
Blackfriars, visit J.R. Mabry’s website at http://www.jrmabry.com.

Guest Post

When did you know you were a writer?

Writing is like a virus. It gets into you when you’re small, and often you don’t even notice it. But it gradually spreads throughout your system, leaving no part of your life untouched.

My first act of creative fiction was committed in the third grade. It was a short story called, “The Mystery of Salary Swamp,” and it featured pencil drawings of people that looked more turtle-ish than human, had zero character development, and an ending you could see coming from the first paragraph. Still…it was a start. Oh, there was also, somewhere between pages three and four, a recipe for cinnamon toast. That was there for two reasons: first, I knew how to make cinnamon toast; and second, because Patti Duke had written a story on her TV show, and had included a recipe. Imitation is the highest form of flattery. You’re welcome, Patti.

I don’t remember if the story was a school assignment or not—probably not. But I did show it to my teacher, Mr. Vanasaker. He was impressed. So were my folks. I remember thinking, “That wasn’t hard, and I got a lot of good feels from it. Let’s do that again.” So I did. And again. And again.

In other words, I got bit. My best friend Mickey was also a writer, and in seventh grade we were in neck-to-neck competition for a school-wide writing contest. There was no doubt in anyone’s mind that one of us was going to win it—but just which of us would was anyone’s guess. In my heart, I knew that Mickey was the more accomplished writer, and that my little story didn’t hold a candle to his. His characters sounded like grown-ups. Mine sounded like a kid trying to sound like a grown-up. That’s a big difference.

Yet, something about my story must have had some charm, because the contest ended in a tie. This eliminated any hard feelings, but didn’t settle the score between Mickey and I. Even in junior college, when we went on a European tour together, Mickey and I were competitive about our trip diaries.

But real life intervened. I became a magazine editor, and later a pastor and a teacher. Writing went on the back burner. I wrote articles now and then, but nothing major. Then I realized that there was no appropriate textbook for the graduate studies program I was putting together. If my students were going to have what they needed, I would have to write it. So I did. I wrote more textbooks, and many of them are in use in graduate programs around the country.

Encouraged, I had an idea for a novel that just wouldn’t let me go. So I wrote The Kingdom. And you know what? It kicked my ass. Finishing that damned novel was the hardest thing I have ever done. Seriously, climbing Everest would have been a piece of cake by comparison. Dental surgery without anesthesia would be nothing compared to this. But I kept at it, and three years after I began, it was done.

I was exhausted. I didn’t write another word for six months. But then I wrote a Christmas novel, What Child is This? Then I wrote a sequel to The Kingdom, The Power. Somewhere along the way, with every finished novel, it got easier. I no longer collapse in a heap when novel is finished. Instead, I don’t miss a beat. I finish one novel and start the next one the very next day.

I have now finished eight novels, and have outlines for about four more. The only thing I regret is that I don’t have time to write as much as I want to! So yeah, I got infected with the writing bug in third grade, and it has now snowballed into a full-blown chronic condition. I can manage it, but I don’t think I’ll ever be rid of it. And I don’t think I want to be.

 

For a free short story in the Berkeley Blackfriars universe, download The Demon Bunny of Ipswich. For more on The Kingdom and the Berkeley Blackfriars, visit J.R. Mabry’s website at http://www.jrmabry.com.


Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!
Advertisements